SHINEDOWN / Smith And Myers talk Volume 1 and Volume 2

Shinedown duo Brent Smith and Zach Myers will release ‘Smith and Myers Volume 1’ 9 October, with ‘Volume 2’ to follow 23 October. Today two tracks from ‘Volume 2’ can been seen: original track ‘Bad Love’ and their version of Billie Eilish’s ‘Bad Guy’.

Brent Smith told MetalTalk: “‘Bad At Love’ was one of the very first original songs to be written for the project.

“I think ultimately the song was born from my own romantic relationships. When I love someone, I love them fully and sometimes the passion can be too much.

“I always know when it’s time to move on.

“That being said, I am extremely grateful that I am still very good friends with the ladies I have loved, and still love, to this day.”

Zach Myers told us: “Lyrically, Brent was writing about things in his life that maybe we wouldn’t really touch on with Shinedown and I think it came out to be an incredibly naked and honest song.

“And I think Bad Guy turned out very cool – it’s a nice bluesy version of the song.”

Each Volume features five original tunes and five re-imaginings of fan-submitted songs.

Of the Smith And Myers project, Brent told MetalTalk: “We’ve spent a great deal of time and energy making sure this project is completely authentic. The main reason Smith and Myers exists has to do with the fans.

“A project that was born from multiple requests over the years, has now evolved into its true identity. Make no mistake – it’s about the songs, it’s about the story, and above all it’s about the message.

Zach continues: “It was an odd time to make a record at the beginning of a global pandemic, but the state of the world is reflected in the art we made on this album.

“It was some of the most creative times I’ve ever had as a musician or a songwriter.

“For the covers, we felt that we should approach them as a duo as if we had written the song modern day.

“With the originals, Brent and I had never discussed some of this subject matter before and we dug so deep while also touching on a world that’s rapidly changing around us the last eight months.

“We felt it would be disingenuous not to touch on social issues we ALL face as humans.

“We put a lot into this album and we truly hope you enjoy listening to it.”

Volume 1:
1. Not Mad Enough
2. Rockin’ In The Free World
3. The Weight of It All
4. Better Now
5. Panic
6. Never Tear Us Apart
7. Coast To Coast
8. Valerie
9. Since You Were Mine
10. Unchained Melody

Volume 2:
1. Bad At Love
2. Bad Guy
3. New School Shiver
4. Sledgehammer
6. Rebel Yell
7. Like You Never Left
8. Losing My Religion
9. One More Time
10. Don’t Look Back In Anger

Sleeve Notes

Sign up for the MetalTalk Newsletter, an occasional roundup of the best Heavy Metal News, features and pictures curated by our global MetalTalk team.

More in Heavy Metal


Search MetalTalk

MetalTalk Venues

MetalTalk Venues - The Devil's Dog Digbeth
MetalTalk Venues – The Green Rooms Live Music and Rehearsal
The Patriot, Crumlin - The Home Of Rock
Interview: Christian Kimmett, the man responsible for getting the bands in at Bannerman's Bar
Cart & Horses, London. Birthplace Of Iron Maiden
The Giffard Arms, Wolverhampton

New Metal News