Mark Boals / Smoking with Snoop Dogg, Recording with Vinnie and the new Collection

Classically trained singer Mark Boals is to release a two CD collection entitled ‘All The Best’ this 9 October, through Frontiers Music Srl. The collection includes songs recorded both a solo artist and with his band Ring Of Fire.

Mark told MetalTalk: “I am very happy and proud to announce the release of this collection! It includes songs from my first solo album, which was only released in Japan and is very hard to find, with guitars by the great Doug Aldrich.

“My second solo album later turned into the band Ring Of Fire.

“The line-up was too good to work together on only one album and I wanted it to continue, which it then did for three more studio albums.

“With Tony MacAlpine and Virgil Donati working together, there was a chemistry of genius, and with the addition of Vitalij Kuprij, it made for a magnificent blend of magic!

“On my ‘Edge Of The World’ solo album, I worked with several other great musicians and a hero of my childhood and the best hard rock drummer in history, Vinny Appice!

“When I listen to all those very high notes I had sung and the incredible amount of virtuoso notes played per song, I sometimes surprise myself, hahaha!

“We were all pushing ourselves to new heights of excellence in those days. A lot of good memories come back when I listen to these songs, like riding motorcycles around LA with Tony MacAlpine and always ending up hanging out on the beach drinking beers until the wee hours.

“Or having Snoop Dogg in the next room of the studio we were recording in (Paramount), and having him listen to our music and telling me that I needed to smoke something with him, LOL….and it DID help, hahaha!

“Also, recording keyboards in a Beverly Hills mansion belonging to a famous movie star friend, with Vitalij Kuprij, and drinking rare whisky together after the sessions and talking all night.”

Indeed, Boals has recorded with musicians such as Doug Aldrich, Tony MacAlpine, Jeff Kollman, Neil Citron, Vitalij Kuprij, Vinny Appice, Virgil Donati, Erik Norlander, Chris Brooks and Steve Weingart.

Also, in the Neoclassical Metal world, he was the frontman for Yngwie Malmsteen’s Rising Force from 1986, releasing the now legendary ‘Trilogy’ album that year, plus three further studio albums with the Swedish guitarist prior to leaving following the 2000 album ‘War To End All Wars’.

Boals released three solo albums: ‘Ignition’ (1998), ‘Ring Of Fire’ (2000) and ‘Edge Of The World’ (2002), before launching his band Ring Of Fire with Tony MacAlpine (and later George Bellas) on guitar, drummer Virgil Donati, bassist Philip Bynoe and Vitalij Kuprij on keyboards (Bellas was keyboardist on the first ROF album, ‘The Oracle’).

The band released four albums and a Japanese live set.

Concluding, Mark told us: “I really enjoyed making these albums and I hope you enjoy listening to them too! Wishing good times, good health, and happy listening to all!”

1  Jane
2  Broken Heart
3  I’m Sorry
4  My Turn
5  Find Our Way
6  Ring Of Fire
7  Death Row
8  Keeper Of The Flame
9  Alone
10  Battle Of The Titans
11  Betrayed
12  Lady Babylon
13  Between Two Mirrors
14  Through The Endless Night
15  Up To You
16  Garden Of Pain

1  Circle Of Time
2  The Oracle
3  Take Me Home
4  My Deja Vu
5  Blue Sky
6  Ghost Of America
7  Invisible Man
8  Lapse Of Reality
9  You Were There
10  Perfect World
11  Darkfall
12  Mother Russia
13  Land Of Frozen Tears
14  Our World

Sleeve Notes

Sign up for the MetalTalk Newsletter, an occasional roundup of the best Heavy Metal News, features and pictures curated by our global MetalTalk team.

More in Heavy Metal


Search MetalTalk

MetalTalk Venues

MetalTalk Venues - The Devil's Dog Digbeth
MetalTalk Venues – The Green Rooms Live Music and Rehearsal
The Patriot, Crumlin - The Home Of Rock
Interview: Christian Kimmett, the man responsible for getting the bands in at Bannerman's Bar
Cart & Horses, London. Birthplace Of Iron Maiden
The Giffard Arms, Wolverhampton

New Metal News