L.A. Guns / New live album announced as Guns and Lewis secure band name rights

L.A. Guns are to release ‘Cocked And Loaded Live’ on 9 July 2021 through Frontiers, ahead of a new studio album expected this autumn.

Recorded at the Fremont Country Club in Las Vegas, the quintet of Guns/Lewis/Coogan/Johnson/Martin tore through 12 songs celebrating the classic 80’s Hard Rock sound of the band’s second album, which was certified gold in America during July 1990. The L.A. Guns also included the track ‘Speed’ from their recent ‘The Missing Peace’ album. You can listen to the live version of ‘Malaria’ below.

News of this new live album emerges days after a settlement was reached which confirmed that Tracii Guns and Philip Lewis own the rights to the band’s name.

Out of court settlement

Lawyers representing Guns, Lewis and Steve Riley issued a joint statement on 23 April 2021, which read:

“Plaintiffs Tracii Guns and Philip Lewis and defendants Stephen Riley, Kelly Nickels, Kurt Frolich and Scott Griffin, have agreed to settle the trademark litigation currently pending in the U.S. District Court in the Central District of California. Under the terms of the settlement agreement, the parties have agreed to dismiss the pending lawsuit.

“Mr. Guns and Mr. Lewis will continue to operate under the ‘L.A. GUNS’ trademark, while Mr. Riley and his bandmates will now operate under the new name, ‘RILEY’S L.A. GUNS’ and a new logo.

“Both bands look forward to continuing to record and perform their new music, as well as continuing to include songs from the vintage L.A. GUNS catalog for their fans.

“Both groups’ recordings will continue to appear together on Spotify and other digital music streaming services.”

Cocked And Loaded Live’ can be pre-ordered from orcd.co/lagunslive

Cocked And Loaded Live

1 Slap In The Face
2 Rip And Tear
3 Sleazy Come Easy Go
4 Never Enough
5 Malaria
6 The Ballad Of Jayne
7 Magdalaine
8 Give A Little
9 Speed
10 17 Crash
11 Showdown (Riot On Sunset)
12 Wheels Of Fire
13 I Wanna Be Your Man

More in Heavy Metal



Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here

New Metal NEws