Sanctuary / ‘Into The Mirror Black’ gets 30th Anniversary release

Seattle Power Metal band Sanctuary are to release a remastered version of ‘Into The Mirror Black’, 9 October 2020. The remaster has been completed by Zeuss (Queensrÿche, Iced Earth, Overkill), with the package containing three unreleased studio demos and a newly mixed ten track live set from 1990.

Recorded in ’89 and released in ’90, ‘Into The Mirror Black’ was Sanctuary’s second album and the last before their hiatus between ’92 and 2010.

There were plans to celebrate the anniversary with live shows with current singer Joseph Michael (Warrel Dane passed away in 2017), but inevitably, this had to be postponed.

Guitarist and founding member Lenny Rutledge told MetalTalk: “We are so excited to finally be releasing this special edition of ‘Into The Mirror Black’!

“The remaster of the original songs sound awesome and the 1990 ‘Black Reflections’ live concert is finally going to be released in all its authentic live glory.

“The live material was mixed and mastered by Zeuss and is presented as recorded. No re-recordings or overdubs.

“Look for Sanctuary on tour in Fall of 2021 playing the entire ‘Into The Mirror Black’ set.

“We cant wait to bring the live show to Europe, USA and South America in 2021.”

Cover of Into The Mirror Black by Sanctuary

The ’90 ‘Black Reflections’ live concert was partially released on a rare promo-EP and this is the first time we can hear it in full in all it’s glory.

Zeuss tells us: “The concert from ’90 is a total snapshot in time, when the band was at its peak.

“It’s captured before the initial breakup which led to Warrel and Jim forming Nevermore.

“Hearing it brought me right back to the first time I personally saw them.”

This package also offers tons of rare and previously unpublished photos as well as liner notes from Lenny Rutledge and bassist Jim Sheppard, who share memories, good and bad, tour stories and give insight into the creation of this package.

‘Into The Mirror Black (30th Anniversary Edition)’ will be released as limited LP edition containing three 180 gram vinyls housed in a widespined Gatefold sleeve and includes an 8-page LP-sized booklet, and the 2CD format comes in a digipak and slipcase packaging.

Track Listing

DISC 1 (60:53)

  1. Future Tense (5:07)
  2. Taste Revenge (5:03)
  3. Long Since Dark (5:06)
  4. Epitaph (6:03)
  5. Eden Lies Obscured (5:23)
  6. The Mirror Black (5:06)
  7. Seasons of Destruction (4:51)
  8. One More Murder (4:20)
  9. Communion (5:38)
  10. Future Tense (Demo 1989) (5:16)
  11. I Am Insane (Demo 1989) (4:04)
  12. Mirror Black (Demo 1989) (4:56)

DISC 2 (49:26)

  1. Eden Lies Obscured (Live 1990) (5:15)
  2. Seasons of Destruction (Live 1990) (5:01)
  3. Die For My Sins (Live 1990) (4:05)
  4. Future Tense (Live 1990) (5:15)
  5. White Rabbit (Live 1990) (5:37)
  6. Taste Revenge (Live 1990) (5:09)
  7. Long Since Dark (Live 1990) (5:08)
  8. Sanctuary (Live 1990) (4:25)
  9. One More Murder (Live 1990) (4:13)
  10. Battle Angels (Live 1990) (5:18)

Sleeve Notes

Sign up for the MetalTalk Newsletter, an occasional roundup of the best Heavy Metal News, features and pictures curated by our global MetalTalk team.

More in Heavy Metal


Search MetalTalk

MetalTalk Venues

MetalTalk Venues - The Devil's Dog Digbeth
MetalTalk Venues – The Green Rooms Live Music and Rehearsal
The Patriot, Crumlin - The Home Of Rock
Interview: Christian Kimmett, the man responsible for getting the bands in at Bannerman's Bar
Cart & Horses, London. Birthplace Of Iron Maiden
The Giffard Arms, Wolverhampton

New Metal News