Mortuary Drape / Pioneers of Black Metal sign to Peaceville with new album out February

Mortuary Drape, the cult Black Metal band formed in Italy in 1986 by the visionary Wildness Perversion, have signed to Peaceville and will release a five-track mini-album Wisdom – Vibration – Repent in February 2022.

“We are really excited about this new deal with Peaceville Records,” Wildness Perversion told MetalTalk.

“Immediately there was the right harmony, their staff listened to our needs and were quick in making the important decisions. It will be a great return for Mortuary Drape, the songwriting is going well, and the line-up is as close as ever. All this energy is overwhelming, and I think the fans will realize it by hearing the notes of the new work.”

Inspired by the dark arts, Mortuary Drape combined the early influences of bands such as Mercyful Fate and Celtic Frost. The release of the demo Necromancy in 1987 helped establish the band in the underground scene. In 1992, a first official release, Into The Drape, saw Mortuary Drape establish their reputation as influential and pioneering in the establishment of global Black Metal, a position bolstered by the release of their debut full-length album, the classic All The Witches Dance, in 1994.

The theme of Wisdom – Vibration – Repent spans occultism, philosophy and blasphemy, and includes a storming cover of the Mercyful Fate track, Nightmare Be Thy Name. Cover art is by Misanthropic Art.

Wisdom – Vibration – Repent will be released CD and digitally on 11 February and as a limited edition purple vinyl 12″ on 11 March. Pre-orders are available from mortuarydrape.lnk.to/WVR

Cover of Wisdom – Vibration – Repent from Mortuary Drape
Wisdom – Vibration – Repent, Mortuary Drape

Wisdom – Vibration – Repent tracklisting:

1. In A Candle Flame [05:56]
2. All In One Night [03:25]
3. Nightmare Be Thy Name (Mercyful Fate cover) [03:44]
4. Circle Zero [05:07]
5. Where Everything Falls [04:50]

Mortuary Drape is:

Wildness Perversion: Vocals
D.C. : Lead Guitar
S.R. : Lead Guitar
S.C. : Bass
M.T. : Drums

More in Heavy Metal



Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here

New Metal NEws