Captain Kirk has gone Heavy Metal!! William Shatner has announced the track listing and details for his new space-inspired cover album, ‘Searching For Major Tom’.

The album will feature a large number of Heavy Metal covers, as well as songs by U2, Frank Sinatra, Queen and Pink Floyd.

Here’s the track list:

‘Space Trucking’ Originally By Deep Purple: Deep Purple drummer Ian Paice on drums. Johnny Winter on guest guitar.

‘She Blinded Me With Science’ Originally By Thomas Dolby: Bootsy Collins is guest bassist. Patrick Moraz (Ex Yes And Moody Blues) is guesting on keyboards/synth.

‘In A Little While’ Originally By U2: – Manuel Gottsching from Ash Ra Tempel has added guitar.

‘Empty Glass’ Originally By The Tea Party: Michael Schenker (UFO/Scorpions) on guest guitar.

‘Lost In The Stars’ As Done By Frank Sinatra: – Jazz legend Ernie Watts is on guest saxophone.

‘Twilight Zone’ Originally By Golden Earring: Warren Haynes (Gov’t Mule/Allman Brothers) on guest guitar.

‘Space Cowboy’ Originally By Steve Miller: Country artist Brad Paisley has added guitar and vocals.

‘Rocket Man’ Originally By Elton John: Guitarist Steve Hillage (Ex Gong Member And Current Member Of Techno Rock Duo System 7) has added guest guitar.

‘Space Oddity’ Originally By David Bowie: Ritchie Blackmore (Ex-Deep Purple) is on guest guitar. Alan Parsons adds guest keyboards.

‘Spirit In The Sky’ Originally By Norman Greenbaum: Peter Frampton plays guitar.

‘Bohemian Rhapsody’ Originally By Queen: John Wetton from Asia has played bass and done a vocal.

‘Silver Machine’ Originally By Hawkwind: Wayne Kramer From The MC5 plays guitar and Carmine Appice (Vanilla Fudge/Rod Stewart) is guest drummer.

‘Major Tom’ Originally By Peter Shilling: Nick Valensi, guitarist from The Strokes adds guest guitar. Also Zakk Wylde (Ozzy Osbourn, Black Label Society) And Mike Inez (Alice In Chains) have contributed to this track.

‘Learning To Fly’ Originally By Pink Floyd: Edgar Froese from Tangerine Dream plays guitar and keyboards.

‘Mr Spaceman’ Originally By The Byrds: Dave Davies From The Kinks adds guest guitar.

‘Iron Man’ Originally By Black Sabbath: Zakk Wylde played guitar and did a vocal.

‘Planet Earth’ Originally By Duran Duran: Steve Howe, guitarist with Yes, played guitar on this track.

‘Walking On The Moon’ Originally By The Police: Toots Of Toots & The Maytals adds a guest vocal.

‘Mrs Major Tom’ Female Singer to add a track – To Be Announced

14th April 2020 – Update.

The album was even made….!

More in Heavy Metal


New Metal NEws