The Rolling Stones / Forty Licks, a Masterpiece Unleashed on Digital for the First Time

In 2002, The Rolling Stones bestowed upon the world a musical masterpiece that has since become an essential cornerstone in the band’s extensive discography. Aptly named Forty Licks, this meticulously curated album serves as a poignant tribute to the group’s awe-inspiring journey spanning an impressive four decades. 

Now, over 20 years later, Forty Licks will be available digitally for the first time on 26 July 2023. Two days later, it will be available, again for the first time, in a lavish, limited edition four-disc, 180-gram black vinyl version, housed in a wide spined gatefold sleeve. There is also an opportunity to stream new Dolby Atmos versions of the album’s 40 tracks.

A meticulously selected compilation of 40 tracks, Forty Licks offers an immersive sonic experience that showcases the band’s evolution from their blues-infused rock origins to their groundbreaking and iconic sound.

From the hauntingly captivating melodies of Paint It Black to the gritty, rebellious anthem Gimme Shelter, Forty Licks is a mesmerizing sonic voyage that reverberates through time and resonates with fans old and new. 

This illustrious album encapsulates The Rolling Stones’ unparalleled ability to blend infectious rhythms with introspective lyrics, capturing the zeitgeist of each era and leaving an indelible mark on the annals of rock music.

Bolstered by Mick Jagger’s inimitable vocals, Keith Richards’ virtuosic guitar prowess, and the unyielding rhythm section provided by Charlie Watts and Bill Wyman (later succeeded by Ron Wood), Forty Licks stands as a testament to the band’s enduring legacy. 

Forty Licks was first released in September 2002 to celebrate the Stones’ 40th anniversary and to mark the beginning of their massive Licks tour. This global spectacle, mounted on the breathtaking scale that only the Stones could muster, crossed the globe over the next 14 months, playing 117 shows and becoming the second highest-grossing tour in history up to that time.

This seminal compilation not only epitomizes their unwavering musical genius but also highlights their extraordinary capacity to transcend generational boundaries, leaving an indelible imprint on the hearts and minds of music enthusiasts worldwide.

Pre-order from

The Rolling Stones – Forty Licks 

Record One:

  1. Street Fighting Man
  2. Gimme Shelter
  3. (I Can’t Get No) Satisfaction
  4. The Last Time
  5. Jumpin’ Jack Flash
  6. You Can’t Always Get What You Want
  7. 19th Nervous Breakdown
  8. Under My Thumb
  9. Not Fade Away
  10. Have You Seen Your Mother, Baby, Standing In The Shadow?

Record Two:

  1. Sympathy For The Devil
  2. Mother’s Little Helper
  3. She’s A Rainbow
  4. Get Off Of My Cloud
  5. Wild Horses
  6. Ruby Tuesday
  7. Paint It, Black
  8. Honky Tonk Women
  9. It’s All Over Now
  10. Let’s Spend The Night Together

Record Three:

  1. Start Me Up
  2. Brown Sugar
  3. Miss You
  4. Beast Of Burden
  5. Don’t Stop
  6. Happy
  7. Angie
  8. You Got Me Rocking
  9. Shattered
  10. Fool To Cry

Record Four:

  1. Love Is Strong
  2. Mixed Emotions
  3. Key To Your Love
  4. Anybody Seen My Baby?
  5. Stealing My Heart
  6. Tumbling Dice
  7. Undercover Of The Night
  8. Emotional Rescue
  9. It’s Only Rock ‘N’ Roll (But I Like It)
  10. Losin’ My Touch

Sleeve Notes

Sign up for the MetalTalk Newsletter, an occasional roundup of the best Heavy Metal News, features and pictures curated by our global MetalTalk team.

More in Heavy Metal



Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here

Search MetalTalk

MetalTalk Venues

MetalTalk Venues - The Devil's Dog Digbeth
MetalTalk Venues – The Green Rooms Live Music and Rehearsal
The Patriot, Crumlin - The Home Of Rock
Interview: Christian Kimmett, the man responsible for getting the bands in at Bannerman's Bar
Cart & Horses, London. Birthplace Of Iron Maiden
The Giffard Arms, Wolverhampton

New Metal News