Rush to release Moving Pictures 40th Anniversary expanded edition

Moving Pictures, Rush’s eighth studio album, will be released as a 40th Anniversary expanded edition on 15 April 2022. The set includes the Abbey Road Mastering Studios 2015 remastered for the first time on CD, plus two discs of previously unreleased and newly restored bonus live content newly mixed from the original analogue live multi-tracks by Rush’s original producer, Terry Brown.

The live set is the band’s complete, unreleased Toronto concert from Maple Leaf Gardens in Toronto, Ontario, on 25 March 1981, designated here as Live In YYZ 1981.

The fourth bonus disc is a Blu-ray Audio disc with the core album newly mixed from the original multi-tracks in Dolby Atmos, a Rush catalogue first, Dolby TrueHD 5.1, and DTS-HD Master Audio 5.1 surround sound as done by noted producer/engineer Richard Chycki, alongside the previously available PCM Stereo mix.

Also included on the Blu-ray are four bonus videos: a brand-new video for YYZ plus three remastered vintage promo videos for Tom Sawyer, Limelight, and Vital Signs.

Also included is a 44-page hardcover book with unreleased photos and new artwork by original album designer Hugh Syme, along with new illustrations for each song.

There are extensive liner notes by Kim Thayil (guitarist, Soundgarden), Les Claypool (bassist/vocalist, Primus), Taylor Hawkins (drummer, Foo Fighters), Bill Kelliher (guitarist, Mastodon), and Neil Sanderson (drummer, Three Days Grace).

A Red Barchetta model car mounted on a black perch with an MP40 nameplate, two Neil Peart signature MP40 branded drumsticks, two metal-embossed guitar picks, one each with Geddy Lee and Alex Lifeson’s respective signatures engraved on them, along with a replica of the Moving Pictures 1981 official tour program.

An MP40 logo enamel pin, a 3D lenticular Moving Pictures in motion lithograph, an 18×24-inch Toronto 1981 concert poster, a replica concert ticket from the 1981 Maple Leaf Gardens show, a 12×36-inch Rush Through The Years 1973-1981 poster, a YYZ luggage tag, and an All Access World Tour ’81 insert is also included.

All contents are housed in a premium lift-top box, which features movingly reimagined cover artwork by Hugh Syme.

Configurations available are Super Deluxe Edition, three-CD Deluxe Edition, five-LP Deluxe Edition, one-LP Edition, Digital Deluxe Edition, and Dolby Atmos Digital Edition.

For full details of the versions available, visit rush.com/moving-pictures-40th-anniversary-release/. To pre-order, visit rush.lnk.to/MovingPictures40thPR. The set is released through UMe/Mercury and Anthem Records.

More in Heavy Metal



Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here

New Metal NEws