PiL / John Lydon pens heartfelt Hawaii for Ireland Eurovision Song Contest entry

Public Image Ltd. will enter their song Hawaii in the competition to represent Ireland in the 67th annual Eurovision Song Contest. Hawaii is the most personal piece of songwriting, with accompanying artwork above, that John Lydon has ever shared.

The song is a love letter to Lydon’s wife of nearly five decades, Nora, who is living with Alzheimer’s. “It is dedicated to everyone going through tough times on the journey of life with the person they care for the most,” says Lydon. “It’s also a message of hope that ultimately love conquers all.”

The song finds Lydon reflecting on his wife and a lifetime well spent, particularly one of their happiest moments together in Hawaii.

Public Image Ltd
Public Image Ltd

The competition will take place from 9:30 pm GMT (4:30p ET/1:30p PT) on Friday, 3 February 2023, on Ireland’s The Late Late Show.

John Lydon, Lu Edmonds (multi-instrumentalist, Guitars), Bruce Smith(Percussion, drums), and Scott Firth (Bass, multi-instrumentalist) are the longest stable line-up in the band’s history.

Sleeve Notes

Sign up for the MetalTalk Newsletter, an occasional roundup of the best Heavy Metal News, features and pictures curated by our global MetalTalk team.

More in Heavy Metal

Comments

LEAVE A REPLY

Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here

Search MetalTalk

MetalTalk Venues

MetalTalk Venues – The Green Rooms Live Music and Rehearsal
The Patriot, Crumlin - The Home Of Rock
Interview: Christian Kimmett, the man responsible for getting the bands in at Bannerman's Bar
Cart & Horses, London. Birthplace Of Iron Maiden
The Giffard Arms, Wolverhampton

New Metal News