Metallica drop new track Screaming Suicide from 72 Seasons

Metallica have dropped the new song Screaming Suicide, a second glance at the new album 72 Seasons, due for release on 14 April 2023. The song and its accompanying video, directed by Tim Saccenti, follow the November 2022 thundering track Lux Æterna.

“Screaming Suicide addresses the taboo word of suicide,” James Hetfield said. “The intention is to communicate about the darkness we feel inside. It’s ridiculous to think we should deny that we have these thoughts. At one point or another, I believe most people have thought about it. To face it is to speak the unspoken. If it’s a human experience, we should be able to talk about it. You are not alone.”

Their M72 World tour will follow the two-day unique sets for Download format. Single-day tickets are on sale from today at TicketMaster.

Metallica M72 World Tour

Thursday, April 27 2023 – Amsterdam NL – Johan Cruijff Arena

Saturday, April 29 2023 – Amsterdam NL – Johan Cruijff Arena

Wednesday, May 17 2023 – Paris FR – Stade de France*

Friday, May 19 2023 – Paris FR – Stade de France

Join Hillbilly Vegas on Tour This July

Friday, May 26 2023 – Hamburg DE – Volksparkstadion

Sunday, May 28 2023 – Hamburg DE – Volksparkstadion

Friday, June 16 2023 – Gothenburg SE – Ullevi Stadium**

Sunday, June 18 2023 – Gothenburg SE – Ullevi Stadium

Friday, August 4 2023 – East Rutherford, NJ – MetLife Stadium

Sunday, August 6 2023 – East Rutherford, NJ – MetLife Stadium

Friday, August 11 2023 – Montreal, QC – Stade Olympique

Sunday, August 13 2023 – Montreal, QC – Stade Olympique

Friday, August 18 2023 – Arlington, TX – AT&T Stadium

Sunday, August 20 2023 – Arlington, TX – AT&T Stadium

Friday, August 25 2023 – Inglewood, CA – SoFi Stadium

Sunday, August 27 2023 – Inglewood, CA – SoFi Stadium

Friday, September 1 2023 – Glendale, AZ – State Farm Stadium

Sunday, September 3, 2023 – Glendale, AZ – State Farm Stadium

Friday, November 3, 2023 – St. Louis, MO – The Dome at America’s Center

Sunday, November 5, 2023 – St. Louis, MO – The Dome at America’s Center

Friday, November 10, 2023 – Detroit, MI – Ford Field

Sunday, November 12, 2023 – Detroit, MI – Ford Field

Friday, May 24 2024 – Munich DE – Olympiastadion

Sunday, May 26 2024 – Munich DE – Olympiastadion

Friday, June 7 2024 – Helsinki FI – Olympic Stadium

Sunday, June 9 2024 – Helsinki FI – Olympic Stadium

Friday, June 14 2024 – Copenhagen DK – Parken Stadium

Sunday, June 16 2024 – Copenhagen DK – Parken Stadium

Friday, July 5 2024 – Warsaw PL – PGE Narodowy

Sunday, July 7 2024 – Warsaw PL – PGE Narodowy

Friday, July 12 2024 – Madrid ES – Estadio Cívitas Metropolitano

Sunday, July 14 2024 – Madrid ES – Estadio Cívitas Metropolitano

Friday, August 2 2024 – Foxborough, MA – Gillette Stadium

Sunday, August 4 2024 – Foxborough, MA – Gillette Stadium

Friday, August 9 2024 – Chicago, IL – Soldier Field

Sunday, August 11 2024 – Chicago, IL – Soldier Field

Friday, August 16 2024 – Minneapolis, MN – US Bank Stadium

Sunday, August 18 2024 – Minneapolis, MN – US Bank Stadium

Friday, August 23 2024 – Edmonton, AB – Commonwealth Stadium

Sunday, August 25 2024 – Edmonton, AB – Commonwealth Stadium

Friday, August 30 2024 – Seattle, WA – Lumen Field

Sunday, September 1 2024 – Seattle, WA – Lumen Field

Friday, September 20 2024 – Mexico City MX – Foro Sol***

Sunday, September 22 2024 – Mexico City MX – Foro Sol

Friday, September 27 2024 – Mexico City MX – Foro Sol***

Sunday, September 29 2024 – Mexico City MX – Foro Sol

Show 1 Support Europe: Architects & Mammoth WVH**

Show 2 Support Europe: Five Finger Death Punch & Ice Nine Kills

*Five Finger Death Punch/Ice Nine Kills play show 1 in Paris, Architects & Mammoth WVH play show 2 in Paris 

**Volbeat replaces Architects on show 1 in Gothenburg

Show 1 Support North America: Pantera & Mammoth WVH***

Show 2 Support North America: Five Finger Death Punch & Ice Nine Kills

***Greta Van Fleet replaces Pantera on show 1 both weekends in Mexico City

Sleeve Notes

Sign up for the MetalTalk Newsletter, an occasional roundup of the best Heavy Metal News, features and pictures curated by our global MetalTalk team.

More in Heavy Metal

Comments

LEAVE A REPLY

Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here

Search MetalTalk

MetalTalk Venues

MetalTalk Venues - The Devil's Dog Digbeth
MetalTalk Venues – The Green Rooms Live Music and Rehearsal
The Patriot, Crumlin - The Home Of Rock
Interview: Christian Kimmett, the man responsible for getting the bands in at Bannerman's Bar
Cart & Horses, London. Birthplace Of Iron Maiden
The Giffard Arms, Wolverhampton

New Metal News