Devin Townsend / ‘Genesis’ released from Empath Live Volume 1

With Devin Townsend due to release ‘Order Of Magnitude – Empath Live Volume 1’ on the 23rd October 2020, the first track from the document of his Winter 2019 European tour has been released and you can watch ‘Genesis’ here.

Townsend told MetalTalk: “Here is the first song we’ve chosen to release from the upcoming DVD concert, ‘Order Of Magnitude’, which was the first volume of my Empath touring band cycle.

“This particular band consisted of ten people onstage, all without click tracks or backing tracks, with the aim of reproducing my work in a new and creative way.

“A lot of what I’ve done in the past has been very structured and the opportunity to interpret the music with high degrees of improvisation and flow was a fantastic experience.

“This song, ‘Genesis’, from my latest album ‘Empath’, seemed an appropriate way to introduce this concert to the audience.

“It’s kind of an example of musical anarchy in some ways, as the song is all over the place structurally to begin with.

“But to have a chaotic piece of music, played by these extraordinary musicians I had the honour of being with, in a no-holds-barred production, was really cathartic. It was about being free to do whatever we wanted, in a time where rigid ideas of what is acceptable or not are stronger than ever.

“I hope you enjoy it. Volume 2 is next, and is in a lot of ways the polar opposite to this, but on my journey of musical exploration, I am grateful for all of it, so thanks again for the support.”

Recorded in December 2019 in London on the penultimate night of the tour in support of his latest album ‘Empath’, this run of shows saw Devin joined by an incredible line-up of musicians.

The band was made up of guitarists Mike Kenneally (ex-Frank Zappa) and Markus Reuter (Stick Men, The Crimson Project), drummer Morgan Ågren (Kaipa, Mats & Morgan, Frank Zappa), bassist Nathan Navarro, Haken keyboard player Diego Tejeida, and guitarist/vocalist Ché Aimee Dorval, as well as vocalists Samantha & Anne Preis and Arabella Packford.

Sleeve Notes

Sign up for the MetalTalk Newsletter, an occasional roundup of the best Heavy Metal News, features and pictures curated by our global MetalTalk team.
The best in new music direct to your inbox.

More in Heavy Metal


New Metal NEws