Alcatrazz / First Doogie White vocal track released, new album announced

Alcatrazz will release their fifth studio album, V, on 15 October 2021, via Silver Lining Music. The excellent first single, Sword Of Deliverance, can be seen below.

“Sword of Deliverance is a mighty, Metal monument,” Doogie White told MetalTalk. “A call to arms for the Alcatrazz collective. Loud, proud and ready.”

The current Alcatrazz lineup features founding members Jimmy Waldo on keyboards and Gary Shea on bass, with Mark Benquechea on drums, Joe Stump on guitar and the always excellent Doogie White on vocals.

Cover of new Alcatrazz album V

“No Parole, only heavier”

“We all are very happy with the new album,” Jimmy Waldo says. “We all were on the same page about the direction and what we were trying to accomplish. We had over 20 songs to pick from, it was tough, we liked them all, that’s very unusual for a band. I think this album sounds like the natural progression from No Parole, only heavier.”

In a recent interview with MetalTalk, Doogie said that he had “signed with Frontier Records to do an album with a great Swedish guitarist Emil Norberg.” The album will be out later in the year. “The project is called Long Shadows Dawn,” Doogie said, “and the album will be called Isle of Wrath. It has great songs and playing. It’s heavy but melodic.”

The call to join Alcatrazz followed. “Just as I was finishing that album,” Doogie said, “Alcatrazz approached me and said that Graham Bonnet had left the band. They’d had a successful new album and wanted to know, would I be their singer? I said yes, but we’d need a new record.”

Natural transition

Judging by Sword Of Deliverance, this looks to have been an exciting move. “The addition of Doogie is a natural transition for the Alcatrazz Legacy,” Gary Shea told us. “He is a hard-working professional who loves to sing and doesn’t shy away from deadlines.

“His long list of career achievements is the perfect fit for us as we have been leading parallel lives all these years creating music. I am looking forward to bringing this new powerful lineup on the road.”

V can be pre-ordered from

V – Track Listing

Guardian Angel
Sword Of Deliverance
Turn Of The Wheel
Grace Of God
Return To Nevermore
Maybe Tomorrow
House Of Lies
Alice’s Eyes
Dark Day For My Soul


Jimmy Waldo-Keyboards
Gary Shea- Bass
Doogie White- Lead Vocals
Joe Stump- Guitar
Mark Benquechea- Drums

Sleeve Notes

Sign up for the MetalTalk Newsletter, an occasional roundup of the best Heavy Metal News, features and pictures curated by our global MetalTalk team.

More in Heavy Metal



Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here

Search MetalTalk

MetalTalk Venues

MetalTalk Venues - The Devil's Dog Digbeth
MetalTalk Venues – The Green Rooms Live Music and Rehearsal
The Patriot, Crumlin - The Home Of Rock
Interview: Christian Kimmett, the man responsible for getting the bands in at Bannerman's Bar
Cart & Horses, London. Birthplace Of Iron Maiden
The Giffard Arms, Wolverhampton

New Metal News