Albert Bouchard / To release his version of Blue Öyster Cult’s ‘Imaginos’

5 October 2020

Released in 1988, the Blue Öyster Cult album ‘Imaginos’ was originally intended to be the first of three solo albums by drummer and songwriter Albert Bouchard. Bouchard left the band in 1981 and he is to release ‘Re Imaginos’ 6 November, his reimagining of the BÖC album.

The first single, ‘Black Telescope’, has been released, which you can watch below.

Bouchard told MetalTalk: “Most BÖC fans know at this point that ‘Imaginos’ was supposed to be my solo album.

“Some people think it’s the best BÖC album, others think it’s not a ‘true’ BÖC album.

“In either case, they’re right. I made this new album for them so that they can hear a more properly realised version of the tale.”

Cover of the Re Imaginos by Albert Bouchard, former Blue Öyster Cult member

Bouchard left the band in 1981 and, while BÖC’s ‘Imaginos’ was rejected by CBS in 1984, the album eventually saw the light of day in 1988. The album was considered the heaviest that band had produced and was considered a critical, if not commercial success.

The infamous cowbell part in ‘(Don’t Fear) The Reaper was the basis of the classic Will Ferrell sketch on Saturday Night Live.

To celebrate this the Bouchard brothers are offering a limited amount of the official RockHeart Records Cowbell autographed personally by both Joe and Albert.

1. I Am The One You Warned Me Of
2. Del Rio Song
3. In The Presence Of Another World
4. Siege And Investiture Of Baron Von Frankenstein’s Castle At Weisseria
5. Girl That Love Made Blind
6. Astronomy
7. Imaginos
8. Gil Blanco County
9. Blue Oyster Cult
10. Black Telescope
11. Magna of Illusion
12. Les Invisibles

MetalTalk - The Home of Heavy Metal News

Join our mailing list

We don’t spam! Read our privacy policy for more info.

Pinterest WhatsApp
Previous post

Mick Fleetwood / Recreates Doggface208 video while drinking cranberry juice

Next post

Diamond Head / To Tour April/May with Rock Goddess