Aerosmith / Hot pink coloured vinyl of Donington 2014

As Christmas, or what will have to pass for it in this odd year, is finally upon on us, so are some of the more lavish and exciting new box sets and reissues. This has been a bumper year for heavy duty vinyl fans in particular.

Aerosmith Rocks Donington 2014 – (Eagle Rock Entertainment)

Words: Kahmel Farahani

‘Aerosmith Rocks Donington’ is a fabulous triple set of hot pink coloured vinyl documenting the bands triumphant headlining set from Download 2014. Housed in a beautifully put together gatefold sleeve with pictures of the band, its sure to delight any lucky Aerosmith fan that Father Christmas manages to reach.

Aerosmith Rocks Donington 2014

As for the music itself, The Toxic Twins are on absolutely smoking form throughout, with frontman supreme Steven Tyler screaming and dancing his way through an almost two hour set that would surely floor a singer half his age.

Meanwhile Joe Perry is still the cooler than cool dark horse providing the brass knuckle riffs. Indeed the whole band sounds superb and a varied setlist that covers more or less every point between big hits and the deeper cuts.

The set kicks off with the evergreen classic ‘Train Kept A-Rollin’ before a particularly lively ‘Eat The Rich’. Aerosmith are one of those live acts that are so consistently excellent that it is easy to forget just how much fun they are live.

‘Same Old Song and Dance’ sounds more energetic now than it ever has and ends with Joe Perry trying to force feed his Les Paul into his stack of amplifiers. The underrated gem ‘No More No More’ has never sounded better and it leads into a stellar cover of The Beatles ‘Come Together’ which blows their previous studio version out of the water. It is one of the highlights of a brilliant set.

Starting their encore with the big guns, ‘Dream On’ is followed by an electrifying ‘Sweet Emotion’. After a rousing, crowd led chant of “f**k curfew”, Aerosmith return for their second and final encore ‘Mama Kin’. A perfect ending to a tremendous night.

Hopefully, the world will soon return to a state where Aerosmith can complete their (supposed) farewell tour. Until that time, all Aerosmith fans should enjoy this tremendous set and relive the best of times.


1. Train Kept A-Rollin`
2. Eat The Rich
3. Love in an Elevator
4. Cryin`
5. Jaded
6. Livin` on the Edge
7. Last Child
8. Freedom Fighter
9. Same Old Song and Dance
10. Janie’s Got a Gun
11. Toys in the Attic
12. I Don’t Want to Miss a Thing
13. No More No More
14. Come Together
15. Dude (Looks Like a Lady)
16. Walk This Way
17. Dream On
18. Sweet Emotion
19. Mama Kin

Sleeve Notes

Sign up for the MetalTalk Newsletter, an occasional roundup of the best Heavy Metal News, features and pictures curated by our global MetalTalk team.

More in Heavy Metal


Search MetalTalk

MetalTalk Venues

MetalTalk Venues - The Devil's Dog Digbeth
MetalTalk Venues – The Green Rooms Live Music and Rehearsal
The Patriot, Crumlin - The Home Of Rock
Interview: Christian Kimmett, the man responsible for getting the bands in at Bannerman's Bar
Cart & Horses, London. Birthplace Of Iron Maiden
The Giffard Arms, Wolverhampton

New Metal News