Black Sabbath / Vol. 4 next in line for big 50th Anniversary release

In 1972, Black Sabbath released ‘Vol 4’, their fourth album in two years. Including the classics like ‘Supernaut’, ‘Changes’ and ‘Snowblind’, the album was a Top 10 (UK) and Top 20 (USA) success, eventually being certified Platinum by the RIAA.

As part of the bands 50th Anniversary, the deluxe edition of ‘Vol 4’ will be available from 12 February 2021 as a massive four CD, or five LP set.

The package contains a newly remastered version of the original album, plus 29 studio and live tracks, 20 of which are previously unreleased.

Black Sabbath. Photo: Avalon.Red
Black Sabbath. Photo: Avalon.Red

Both versions come with an extensive booklet featuring liner notes with quotes from the era from all four band members, rare photos and a poster with previously unpublished early artwork of the album using the working title ‘Snowblind’.

Tracks included are six previously unreleased studio outtakes from the original sessions. Each one has been newly mixed by Steven Wilson using the analog multi-tracks.

The set also features eleven additional studio recordings (also newly mixed by Wilson) that spotlight alternative takes, false starts and snippets of studio dialogue.

Photo of Black Sabbath - Vol 4 - Presentation set

The collection also includes live performances that re-create a typical setlist from Black Sabbath’s tour for Vol 4.

Recorded in March 1973 at various stops along the band’s U.K. tour, the recordings were originally slated for a live album that was ultimately shelved. The live audio has been newly mixed by Richard Digby Smith using the original 16-track analog tapes, to achieve a level of fidelity not heard on any previous incarnations.

The set can be pre-ordered via BMG at

CD Track Listing

Disc One: Original Album Remastered
1. Wheels Of Confusion / The Straightener
2. Tomorrow’s Dream
3. Changes
4. FX
5. Supernaut
6. Snowblind
7. Cornucopia
8. Laguna Sunrise
9. St. Vitus Dance
10. Under The Sun / Every Day Comes And Goes

Disc Two: Outtakes – New Mixes
1. Wheels Of Confusion / The Straightener *
2. Changes *
3. Supernaut *
4. Snowblind *
5. Laguna Sunrise *
6. Under The Sun (Instrumental) *

Disc Three: Alternative Takes, False Starts & Studio Dialogue
1. Wheels Of Confusion (False Start with Studio Dialogue) *
2. Wheels Of Confusion (Alternative Take 1) *
3. Wheels Of Confusion (Alternative Take 2) *
4. Wheels Of Confusion (Alternative Take 3) *
5. Wheels Of Confusion (Alternative Take 4) *
6. The Straightener (Outtake) *
7. Supernaut (Outtake) *
8. Supernaut (Alternative Takes with False Starts) *
9. Snowblind (Alternative Take 1 – Incomplete) *
10. Under The Sun (False Start with Studio Dialogue) *
11. Under The Sun (Alternative Take with Guide Vocal) *

Disc Four: Live In The UK 1973
1. Tomorrow’s Dream *
2. Sweet Leaf *
3. War Pigs
4. Snowblind *
5. Killing Yourself To Live
6. Cornucopia
7. Wicked World (Includes Excerpts of
i. Guitar Solo
ii. Orchid
iii. Into The Void
iv. Sometimes I’m Happy
8. Supernaut / Drum Solo
9. Wicked World (Reprise)
10. Embryo
11. Children Of The Grave
12. Paranoid

* previously unreleased

Sleeve Notes

Sign up for the MetalTalk Newsletter, an occasional roundup of the best Heavy Metal News, features and pictures curated by our global MetalTalk team.

More in Heavy Metal


Search MetalTalk

MetalTalk Venues

Cart & Horses, London. Birthplace Of Iron Maiden
The Giffard Arms, Wolverhampton

New Metal News