Rory Gallagher / Comprehensive compilation to be released in October

A comprehensive collection titled ‘The Best Of Rory Gallagher’ is to be released by UMC on 9 October. The package contains 30 tracks, including a previously unreleased collaboration with Jerry Lee Lewis.

The compilation covers Rory’s most iconic songs from his first band Taste (1969) through to his final studio album ‘Fresh Evidence’ (1990).

Albert Lee, Peter Frampton, Rory, Jerry Lee Lewis. Photo © Strange Music Ltd
Albert Lee, Peter Frampton, Rory, Jerry Lee Lewis. Photo © Strange Music Ltd

Included in the package is a bonus track of ‘(I Can’t Get No) Satisfaction’, recorded with Jerry Lee Lewis on his famous 1973 ‘London Sessions’. The previously unreleased track is part of the 2CD version of the album and the digital download, but is also available as a limited edition 7″ vinyl single.

The 7″ vinyl cover features an archive photo of Rory and Jerry Lee Lewis, with the ‘B’ side ‘Cruise On Out’ taken from Rory’s 1978 album ‘Photo Finish’.

Cover of The Best Of Rory Gallagher

Formats: 2LP black vinyl, limited 2LP clear vinyl, 2CD, 1CD, Digital HD, Digital Standard

Double CD Version Track Listing:

Join Hillbilly Vegas on Tour This July


1. Taste – What’s Going On (from 1970’s ‘On The Boards’ LP) 2:48
2. Rory Gallagher – Shadow Play (from 1978’s ‘Photo Finish’ LP 4:47
3. Rory Gallagher – Follow Me (from 1979’s ‘Top Priority’ LP) 4:40
4. Rory Gallagher – Tattoo’d Lady (from 1973’s ‘Tattoo’ LP) 4:41
5. Rory Gallagher – All Around Man (from 1975’s ‘Against The Grain’ LP) 6:15
6. Rory Gallagher – I Fall Apart (from 1971’s ‘Rory Gallagher’ LP) 5:12
7. Rory Gallagher – Daughter Of The Everglades (from 1973’s ‘Blueprint” LP) 6:12
8. Rory Gallagher – Calling Card (from 1976’s ‘Calling Card’ LP) 5:24
9. Rory Gallagher – I’m Not Awake Yet (from 1971’s ‘Deuce’ LP) 5:37
10. Rory Gallagher – Just The Smile (from 1971’s ‘Rory Gallagher’ LP) 3:41
11. Rory Gallagher – Out Of My Mind (from 1971’s ‘Deuce’ LP) 3:06
12. Rory Gallagher – Edged In Blue (from 1976’s ‘Calling Card’ LP) 5:29
13. Rory Gallagher – Philby (from 1979’s ‘Top Priority’ LP) 3:50
14. Taste – It’s Happened Before, It’ll Happen Again (from 1970’s ‘On The Boards’ LP) 6:33
15. Rory Gallagher – Crest Of A Wave (from 1971’s ‘Deuce’ LP) 5:54


1. Rory Gallagher – Bad Penny (from 1979’s ‘Top Priority’ LP) 4:04
2. Rory Gallagher – Walk On Hot Coals (from 1973’s ‘Blueprint’ LP) 7:02
3. Taste – Blister On The Moon (from 1969’s ‘Taste’ LP) 3:27
4. Rory Gallagher – Loanshark Blues (from 1987’s ‘Defender’ LP) 4:27
5. Rory Gallagher – Bought & Sold (from 1975’s ‘Against The Grain’ LP) 3:26
6. Rory Gallagher – A Million Miles Away (from 1973’s from the Tattoo LP) 6:56
7. Rory Gallagher – Wheels Within Wheels (from 2010’s ‘Notes From San Francisco’ LP) 3:38
8. Rory Gallagher – Seven Days (from 1987’s ‘Defender’ LP) 5:14
9. Rory Gallagher – Ghost Blues (from 1990’s ‘Fresh Evidence’ LP) 8:00
10. Rory Gallagher – Cruise On Out (from 1978’s ‘Photo Finish’ LP) 4:42
11. Jerry Lee Lewis ft. Rory Gallagher – (I Can’t Get No) Satisfaction (1973 outtake from the Jerry Lee Lewis ‘The Session… Recorded in London With Great Guest Artists’ LP) 3:50
12. Rory Gallagher – They Don’t Make Them Like You Anymore (from 1973’s ‘Tattoo’ LP) 4:05
13. Rory Gallagher – Moonchild (from 1976’s ‘Calling Card’ LP) 4:47
14. Rory Gallagher – Jinxed (from 1982’s ‘Jinx’ LP) 5:12
15. Taste – Catfish (from 1969’s ‘Taste’ LP) 8:06


Sleeve Notes

Sign up for the MetalTalk Newsletter, an occasional roundup of the best Heavy Metal News, features and pictures curated by our global MetalTalk team.

More in Heavy Metal


Search MetalTalk

MetalTalk Venues

MetalTalk Venues - The Devil's Dog Digbeth
MetalTalk Venues – The Green Rooms Live Music and Rehearsal
The Patriot, Crumlin - The Home Of Rock
Interview: Christian Kimmett, the man responsible for getting the bands in at Bannerman's Bar
Cart & Horses, London. Birthplace Of Iron Maiden
The Giffard Arms, Wolverhampton

New Metal News