metal talk
instagram Facebook Twitter RSS
metal talk
19th May 2017

status quo

Status Quo have released their wonderful performance of 'Caroline' from their upcoming live release 'The Last Night Of The Electrics' on earMUSIC and you can see the video first right here on MetalTalk right now.

The live audio recording of 'Caroline' will be available as an iTunes Instant Grat track with the digital pre-order and will also be available on all streaming platforms.

'The Last Night Of The Electrics' is due for release on July 14th 2017 on earMUSIC and is a sensational live set recorded at Quo's emotionally charged, barnstorming set at London's O2 last year.

Francis Rossi told us:

"This release captures Quo on incredible form, at a concert that will live long in my memory. It was a difficult time, but we knew what we needed to do and we delivered.

"This was by no means business as usual, nor should it have been, but the energy of the music, the band and the crowd coming together was palpable."

Originally envisaged as a swansong for Quo's legendary electric set, the 2016 winter tour turned into something very different as Rick Parfitt was forced to be absent having suffered the first of a series of health issues that would tragically end his life as the year closed.

With the band having been urged by both Rick himself and the fans to carry on and keep the music blasting, they found yet another gear, and the show captured in front of a the loyal O2 crowd turned out to be very special indeed.

This fantastic concert will be released on a series of formats: 2CD, DVD, Blu-ray, Limited Edition 180g Black Triple Vinyl with side 6 etched (double gatefold), earBOOK (coffee table book including 120 pages and 2 Audio-CDs, 1 DVD & 1 Blu-ray) and Digital. Also 180g Coloured Triple Vinyl with side 6 etched (triple gatefold), 2CD+DVD and 2CD+Blu-ray and various bundles will be available via an exclusive direct to consumer web shop.

The events of last year were unparalleled in Status Quo history but 'The Last Night Of The Electrics' release sees them meeting difficult times head on, doing justice to their legacy and that incredible back catalogue. It's the sound of Quo.

status quo

'The Last Night Of The Electrics' tracklist:

1. Caroline
2. The Wanderer
3. Something About You Baby I Like
4. Rain
5. Softer Ride
6. Beginning Of The End
7. Hold You Back
8. Proposin' Medley
9. Paper Plane
10. The Oriental
11. Creepin' Up On You
12. Gerdundula
13. In The Army Now
14. The Caveman
15. Roll Over Lay Down
16. Down Down
17. Whatever You Want
18. Rocking All Over The World
19. Burning Bridges
20. Rock and Roll Music/Bye Bye Johnny

DVD- Bonus:
Audio content of Status Quo's full live show at Heineken Music Hall, Amsterdam, 2nd December 2016.

Blu-ray Bonus:
Audio only content of three full Status Quo live shows:
Hallenstadium, Zurich, 15th October 2016
Heineken Music Hall, Amsterdam, 2nd December 2016
Barclaycard Arena, Birmingham, 16th December 2016

Limited Edition Triple Vinyl:
Side 1
1. Caroline
2. The Wanderer
3. Something About You Baby I Like
4. Rain
5. Softer Ride

Side 2
1. Beginning Of The End
2. Hold You Back
3. Proposin' Medley
4. Paper Plane

Side 3
1. The Oriental
2. Creepin' Up On You
3. Gerdundula

Side 4
1. In The Army Now
2. The Caveman
3. Roll Over Lay Down
4. Down Down

Side 5
1. Whatever You Want
2. Rocking All Over The World
3. Burning Bridges
4. Rock and Roll Music/Bye Bye Johnny

Side 6

judas priest


monsters of rock

Monsters Of Rock In Full Flight is strictly limited to 300 worldwide and is available from 30th November but those ordering before 31st October will have their name published within a dedicated page in the book.

It's a deluxe 128 page hardback book in a metal flight case with a narrative by Jerry Bloom.

When promoter Paul Loasby put on the first Monsters Of Rock Festival in 1980 he could probably never have imagined it would become an annual event that would endure for so many years.

Featuring bands from the UK, Germany, Canada and USA, Loasby chose to stage the event at the Donington race circuit in the middle of England and it would prove to be a defining moment for many of the bands on the bill.

Not least for headliners Rainbow as it was the their last ever show to feature drum legend Cozy Powell. As it would happen it turned out to be the last for vocalist Graham Bonnet as well. For many of the other bands on the bill such as Scorpions, Judas Priest and Saxon, they were all on the ascendancy and would soon go on to even greater success.

Now in celebration of this first ever Monsters Of Rock Festival comes this hardback book full of glorious photos of the bands that took to the stage for that inaugural event including back stage shots. Most of these shots have not been published before which add to the uniqueness of this deluxe 128-page book which is packaged in its own flight case.

Also included are stories surrounding the event with tales and recollections from those who were there, including artists and fans alike. Each book will be signed by the author. The 300 will sell fast and definitely go on to become collector's items so order yours now right here to avoid disappointment.


metal talk © All written site content is copyright 2008-2017, unless otherwise stated, and is not to be used without prior permission.