metal talk
instagram Facebook Twitter RSS
metal talk
5th April 2017


Ritchie Blackmore's Rainbow 'Live In Birmingham 2016' will be released on 9th June 2017 by Eagle Rock Entertainment as a 2CD package.

This is the first release of the audio of the 2016 British show which features performances of 'Soldier Of Fortune' and 'Burn' that were not included in the German shows. The amazing setlist also includes 'Catch The Rainbow', 'Mistreated', 'Since You Been Gone', 'Long Live Rock 'n' Roll', 'Black Night', 'Spotlight Kid', 'Smoke On The Water', 'Stargazer', 'Perfect Strangers' and more.

Ritchie Blackmore made his much-anticipated return to rock music in June 2016 as and the new Ritchie Blackmore's Rainbow line-up played three concerts in Europe, two in Germany and one in England. The two German shows at Loreley and Bietigheim were caught on camera to produce the concert film 'Memories In Rock', which was released by Eagle Vision and Eagle Records in November 2016.

This new 2CD set captures the full audio from the British show at the Genting Arena at the NEC, Birmingham.

The line-Up for the Birmingham show featured Ritchie Blackmore (guitar); Ronnie Romero (vocals); David Keith (drums); Bob Nouveau (bass); Jens Johanssen (keyboards); Candice Night (backing vocals) and Lady Lynn (backing vocals).

The 'Live In Birmingham 2016' tracklisting is:

Disc One:
1) Over The Rainbow / Highway Star
2) Spotlight Kid
3) Mistreated
4) Since You Been Gone
5) Man On The Silver Mountain
6) Soldier Of Fortune
7) Medley: Difficult To Cure (Beethoven's Ninth) / Drum Solo / Bass Solo / Band Jam / Keyboard Solo (inc Toccata & Fugue in Dm) / Difficult To Cure (Beethoven’s Ninth)
8) Catch The Rainbow

Disc Two:
1) Perfect Strangers
2) Long Live Rock 'n' Roll
3) Child In Time
4) Stargazer
5) Medley: Black Night / Woman From Tokyo / Black Night
6) Burn
7) Smoke On The Water

In 2017, the band once again undertake some more eagerly anticipated UK dates:

17th June: Stone Free Festival, O2, London
22nd June: Manchester Arena, Manchester
25th June: The SSE Hydro, Glasgow
28th June: Genting Arena, Birmingham

Tickets are available right here.

judas priest


monsters of rock

Monsters Of Rock In Full Flight is strictly limited to 300 worldwide and is available from 30th November but those ordering before 31st October will have their name published within a dedicated page in the book.

It's a deluxe 128 page hardback book in a metal flight case with a narrative by Jerry Bloom.

When promoter Paul Loasby put on the first Monsters Of Rock Festival in 1980 he could probably never have imagined it would become an annual event that would endure for so many years.

Featuring bands from the UK, Germany, Canada and USA, Loasby chose to stage the event at the Donington race circuit in the middle of England and it would prove to be a defining moment for many of the bands on the bill.

Not least for headliners Rainbow as it was the their last ever show to feature drum legend Cozy Powell. As it would happen it turned out to be the last for vocalist Graham Bonnet as well. For many of the other bands on the bill such as Scorpions, Judas Priest and Saxon, they were all on the ascendancy and would soon go on to even greater success.

Now in celebration of this first ever Monsters Of Rock Festival comes this hardback book full of glorious photos of the bands that took to the stage for that inaugural event including back stage shots. Most of these shots have not been published before which add to the uniqueness of this deluxe 128-page book which is packaged in its own flight case.

Also included are stories surrounding the event with tales and recollections from those who were there, including artists and fans alike. Each book will be signed by the author. The 300 will sell fast and definitely go on to become collector's items so order yours now right here to avoid disappointment.


metal talk © All written site content is copyright 2008-2017, unless otherwise stated, and is not to be used without prior permission.