metal talk
instagram Facebook Twitter RSS
metal talk
12th July 2017


The creativity and productivity of the German Heavy Metal trio Rage seems to have no limits. Little over a year after the successful 'The Devil Strikes Again' album, Rage are set to deliver their new, 23rd studio album, 'Seasons Of The Black', which will be released on July 28th.

Now it's time to give their fans another insight via this interview where the band tell why they have gone 'self-produced'.

Rage have given plenty more interviews in the run up to the release of 'Seasons Of The Black' and here's a selection, along with the album trailers released so far.

'Seasons Of The Black' was recorded in February/March 2017 at Megafon Studios, Burscheid, Germany and at Soundchaser Studios, Zandhoven, Belgium.

Its production was handled by Rage, whilst the renowned Dan Swan (Marduk, Opeth, Katatonia) took care of the mix and mastering at Unisound Studios, Grefrath, Germany. The cover artwork was created by Karim Knig.


'Seasons Of The Black' tracklisting:
1. Season Of The Black
2. Serpents In Disguise
3. Blackened Karma
4. Time Will Tell
5. Septic Bite
6. Walk Among The Dead
7. All We Know Is Not
8. The Tragedy Of Man - Gaia
9. The Tragedy Of Man - Justify
10. The Tragedy Of Man - Bloodshed In Paradise
11. The Tragedy Of Man - Farewell

Bonus CD - 'Avenger Revisited'
1. Adoration
2. Southcross Union
3. Assorted By Satan
4. Faster Than Hell
5. Sword Made Of Steel
6. Down To The Bone

The album's bonus tracks originate from the time when Rage was still called Avenger. Peavy comments:

"It was really nice to re-record the songs from my first years of being a musician. I remember quite well how the songs were created. I always thought that it's a pity that most of the people don't know these songs, just because they were released with another band name.

"For me it was always clear that these songs are kind of timeless and when we played them together it was really awesome. Back then, we couldn't realise our ideas as good as today. When you listen to the new recordings you will recognize how fantastic these songs really are!"


Rage are:
Peter 'Peavy' Wagner: Lead vocals, bass
Marcos Rodriguez: Guitars, vocals
Vassilios 'Lucky' Maniatopoulos: Drums, vocals

'Seasons Of The Black' is out on July 28th and can be pre-ordered here.

judas priest


monsters of rock

Monsters Of Rock In Full Flight is strictly limited to 300 worldwide and is available from 30th November but those ordering before 31st October will have their name published within a dedicated page in the book.

It's a deluxe 128 page hardback book in a metal flight case with a narrative by Jerry Bloom.

When promoter Paul Loasby put on the first Monsters Of Rock Festival in 1980 he could probably never have imagined it would become an annual event that would endure for so many years.

Featuring bands from the UK, Germany, Canada and USA, Loasby chose to stage the event at the Donington race circuit in the middle of England and it would prove to be a defining moment for many of the bands on the bill.

Not least for headliners Rainbow as it was the their last ever show to feature drum legend Cozy Powell. As it would happen it turned out to be the last for vocalist Graham Bonnet as well. For many of the other bands on the bill such as Scorpions, Judas Priest and Saxon, they were all on the ascendancy and would soon go on to even greater success.

Now in celebration of this first ever Monsters Of Rock Festival comes this hardback book full of glorious photos of the bands that took to the stage for that inaugural event including back stage shots. Most of these shots have not been published before which add to the uniqueness of this deluxe 128-page book which is packaged in its own flight case.

Also included are stories surrounding the event with tales and recollections from those who were there, including artists and fans alike. Each book will be signed by the author. The 300 will sell fast and definitely go on to become collector's items so order yours now right here to avoid disappointment.


metal talk © All written site content is copyright 2008-2017, unless otherwise stated, and is not to be used without prior permission.