metal talk
instagram Facebook Twitter RSS
metal talk
31st October 2017


Hawkwind returned to London's legendary Roundhouse venue in Chalk Farm for the first time in forty years on Friday 26th May this year, and it was also forty-five years after the band famously recorded the hit version of ‘Silver Machine’, a show that was captured for posterity on the 'Greasy Truckers Party' album.

Now, the amazing, historic May show is also captured for posterity within a deluxe, celebratory box set, which boasts audio and audio-visual versions of the entire performance. The setlist blends highlights from Hawkwind's last two acclaimed Top 40 albums, 'The Machine Stops' and 'Into The Woods' with classics from the band's past.

Hawkwind founder and leader Dave Brock tells us:

"Yes, it was really good fun playing back at The Roundhouse. After not playing there since 1977, when we had Motörhead support us, it brought back many fine memories for me. Great venue!!"

Phil Campbell And The Bastard Sons guested with Hawkwind for encore performances of 'Brainbox Pollution' and 'Silver Machine', after Phil and his band had played a superb support lot earlier. This was also poignant as Motörhead's very first ever gig was at The Roundhouse in July 1975, supporting Dave Greenslade.

The concert is captured across two CDs and the event can also be enjoyed via a DVD, which reveals an amazing lightshow by John Moules. It will be released on 8th December and a multi-disc vinyl edition will follow early in 2018.

MetalTalk were at The Roundhouse gig and you can see exactly what happened right here.

One day, in years to come, a story will emerge about that review, probably when we are all retired, in order to protect the guilty.

Disc One
1. Ascent
2. We Took The Wrong Step Years Ago
3. The Watcher
4. Born To Go
5. First Landing
6. You Better Believe It
7. Earthbound
8. Have You Seen Them
9. Vegan Lunch
Disc Two
1. Steppenwolf
2. Darklands
3. Magnu
4. Golden Void
5. Synchronized Blue
6. Deep Cavern
7. Into The Woods
8. The Machine
9. Welcome
10. Brainbox Pollution
11. Silver Machine

1. Ascent
2. We Took The Wrong Step Years Ago
3. The Watcher
4. Born To Go
5. First Landing
6. You Better Believe It
7. Earthbound
8. Have You Seen Them
9. Vegan Lunch
10. Steppenwolf
11. Darklands
12. Magnu
13. Golden Void
14. Synchronized Blue
15. Deep Cavern
16. Into The Woods
17. The Machine
18. Welcome
19. Brainbox Pollution
20. Silver Machine

judas priest


monsters of rock

Monsters Of Rock In Full Flight is strictly limited to 300 worldwide and is available from 30th November but those ordering before 31st October will have their name published within a dedicated page in the book.

It's a deluxe 128 page hardback book in a metal flight case with a narrative by Jerry Bloom.

When promoter Paul Loasby put on the first Monsters Of Rock Festival in 1980 he could probably never have imagined it would become an annual event that would endure for so many years.

Featuring bands from the UK, Germany, Canada and USA, Loasby chose to stage the event at the Donington race circuit in the middle of England and it would prove to be a defining moment for many of the bands on the bill.

Not least for headliners Rainbow as it was the their last ever show to feature drum legend Cozy Powell. As it would happen it turned out to be the last for vocalist Graham Bonnet as well. For many of the other bands on the bill such as Scorpions, Judas Priest and Saxon, they were all on the ascendancy and would soon go on to even greater success.

Now in celebration of this first ever Monsters Of Rock Festival comes this hardback book full of glorious photos of the bands that took to the stage for that inaugural event including back stage shots. Most of these shots have not been published before which add to the uniqueness of this deluxe 128-page book which is packaged in its own flight case.

Also included are stories surrounding the event with tales and recollections from those who were there, including artists and fans alike. Each book will be signed by the author. The 300 will sell fast and definitely go on to become collector's items so order yours now right here to avoid disappointment.


metal talk © All written site content is copyright 2008-2017, unless otherwise stated, and is not to be used without prior permission.