metal talk
instagram Facebook Twitter RSS
metal talk
9th February 2017


The brand new studio album from Dragonforce will be called 'Reaching Into Infinity' and will be released via EarMUSIC on May 19th on CD, LP and a special edition CD and DVD.

Recording the bulk of the album at Fascination Street Studios, Sweden, with producer Jens Bogren, the band also laid down tracks while touring their 'Killer Elite' best of album, utilising Lamerluser Studios in London, Dark Lane Studios in Witney as well as the bands own Evil1 Studios in Charleville-Mézières, France and Shredforce One Studios, CA USA.

Bass player Frédéric Leclercq, who also handled the majority of songwriting on this album, told us:

"We were flying out, playing a festival, then back into the studio, then back out again. It was very intense and very tiring. I obviously played bass but also a lot of rhythm guitar, electric and acoustic, and lost my temper a few times - I think we all did at some point, because we wanted to deliver nothing but the best."

It's Dragonforce's seventh studio album and they have opened up their sound like never before, capturing the fierce, forlorn and fun with both menace and melody. Fred continues:

"I think we have proven that playing fast was something we were good at, so this time I wanted to bring even more diversity into our music. It's great to challenge ourselves instead of staying in a comfort zone, and I really wanted to experiment with Marc's vocals. I think people are going to be surprised at his brutality!"

This is the first Dragonforce album to feature Gee Anzalone and the Italian drummer has laid down an insanely impressive performance to provide the perfect backbone to the bands trademark crazy-fast solos, courtesy of guitarists Herman Li and Sam Totman.

The band will give fans their first taste of the new songs in a live setting at a very exclusive one-off show at Our Black Heart in Camden Town, London on April 12th. Says guitarist Sam Totman:

"This is going to be insane! We always like to kick things off with some intimate shows and this will be the smallest London show we've done since doing three consecutive weeks at The Barfly back in 2005. It's going to be a wild sweaty party!"

Tickets go on sale Friday 10th February.

"The title of the album explains pretty much what we are trying to do with our music," Fred concludes. "Today's world is really crazy - there is fear of the future, uncertainty. But the power of music is infinite, and it can give strength and hope to people."


Standard Edition Tracklisting:
1. Reaching Into Infinity
2. Ashes Of The Dawn
3. Judgement Day
4. Astral Empire
5. Curse Of Darkness
6. Silence
7. Midnight Madness
8. WAR!
9. Land Of Shattered Dreams
10. The Edge Of The World
11. Our Final Stand

Special Edition Bonus Tracks:
12. Hatred And Revenge
13. Evil Dead

Bonus DVD:
DragonForce Live at Woodstock Festival Poland 2016
1. Holding On
2. Heroes Of Our Time
3. Operation Ground And Pound
4. Holding On (Multi-angles)
5. Heroes Of Our Time (Multi-angeles)
6. Operation Ground And Pound (Multi-Angles)


metal talk © All written site content is copyright 2008-2018, unless otherwise stated, and is not to be used without prior permission.