metal talk
instagram Facebook Twitter RSS
metal talk
9th October 2017


Transcending Obscurity Records will release Affliktor's self-titled album on October 20th and today, track number six, 'The Singularity', is premiering here on MetalTalk.

Affliktor is the creation of Toby Knapp and if you're into scintillating Black/Thrash Metal with wicked licks and seamless solos, then hit play and enjoy this.

Toby Knapp who has been involved in the creation of extreme Metal music since the early 90s and with Affliktor, he explores the genre and revitalizes it with his fresh outlook, playing mind-bending guitar while staying true to the raw and underground aesthetic of the style.

Toby tells us:

"The Affliktor album was not intended to be a shredder album at all, simply because I'm not a shredder. The solos I think are kinda cool though because they have a certain 'Devil may care' attitude. They are reckless, violent and all were first takes done in a few hours. The guitar playing is coming more from a Trey Azagthoth, Jeff Hanneman attitude than say, Steve Vai or someone truly considered virtuosic.


"I think there is some creativity here possibly because this is a Black/Death Metal album approached completely thinking out of the box. I have a band in place should Affliktor need to do any gigs as there have been a lot of inquiries regarding that."

'Affliktor' tracklisting:
1. Storms Of Demogorgon
2. Born To The Breeder
3. Backwards Into Hell
4. Chaos Magick Totality
5. Burn The Earh
6. The Singularity
7. Planet Rogue
8. Nothing Shall Arise
9. Pazuzu Invoked

The album artwork was created by Mark Riddick and you can hear more of Affliktor right here:

judas priest


monsters of rock

Monsters Of Rock In Full Flight is strictly limited to 300 worldwide and is available from 30th November but those ordering before 31st October will have their name published within a dedicated page in the book.

It's a deluxe 128 page hardback book in a metal flight case with a narrative by Jerry Bloom.

When promoter Paul Loasby put on the first Monsters Of Rock Festival in 1980 he could probably never have imagined it would become an annual event that would endure for so many years.

Featuring bands from the UK, Germany, Canada and USA, Loasby chose to stage the event at the Donington race circuit in the middle of England and it would prove to be a defining moment for many of the bands on the bill.

Not least for headliners Rainbow as it was the their last ever show to feature drum legend Cozy Powell. As it would happen it turned out to be the last for vocalist Graham Bonnet as well. For many of the other bands on the bill such as Scorpions, Judas Priest and Saxon, they were all on the ascendancy and would soon go on to even greater success.

Now in celebration of this first ever Monsters Of Rock Festival comes this hardback book full of glorious photos of the bands that took to the stage for that inaugural event including back stage shots. Most of these shots have not been published before which add to the uniqueness of this deluxe 128-page book which is packaged in its own flight case.

Also included are stories surrounding the event with tales and recollections from those who were there, including artists and fans alike. Each book will be signed by the author. The 300 will sell fast and definitely go on to become collector's items so order yours now right here to avoid disappointment.


metal talk © All written site content is copyright 2008-2017, unless otherwise stated, and is not to be used without prior permission.