metal talk
Type band name, album name, artists name etc here...
Search all our articles by typing band name, album name, artists name etc here...
metal talk
12 June 2014

Reactivated legendary Seattle Metal band, Sanctuary, have wrapped up the recording of their new album, 'The Year The Sun Died', and have set a Sept 30th US street date (Sept 29th in Europe).

Recorded in Seattle at Soundhouse Studios with Zeuss (Whitechapel, Hatebreed), the album will feature 11 tracks and a bonus track, a cover of the Doors classic, 'Waiting for the Sun'.

Comments singer, Warrel Dane: "Now that hell has officially frozen over and the pigs have flown I can proudly say The Year The Sun Died is finished. The record that nobody thought would ever get here has come in kicking ... and yes there is screaming!"

Article continues below...

He continued: "Working with Zeuss (aka the commander) was great. He really pushed us all to be better. This is a very modern sounding record with roots still firmly planted in old school six string metal and I gotta give him creds for that."

Sanctuary were formed in Seattle in 1985 and released two studio albums on Epic Records, 'Refuge Denied' in 1987 and 'Into the Mirror Black' in 1989. They toured the world with the likes of Megadeth, Warlock, Fates Warning, Death Angel and many more.

In 1992, the band officially disbanded with singer Warrel Dane and bassist Jim Sheppard forming the critically acclaimed group, Nevermore. Sanctuary announced in 2010 that they would be reuniting and played Metal festivals in both Europe and the US with the original line up save for guitarist Sean Blosl. Former Forced Entry guitarist, Brad Hull has stepped into to fill his shoes as a permanent touring and recording member.

Warrel Dane - Vocals
Jim Sheppard - Bass
Brad Hull - Guitars
Lenny Rutledge - Guitar
Dave Budbill - Drums



metal talk © All written site content is copyright 2008-2018, unless otherwise stated, and is not to be used without prior permission.