metal talk
Type band name, album name, artists name etc here...
Search all our articles by typing band name, album name, artists name etc here...
metal talk
21st August 2012

lord volture

Female fronted mix of power/thrash metal band Shadowside, one of the rising stars of Brazilian Metal music, has just added an important international award to their career. The fans have spoken and the band is the winner of the 11th Annual Independent Music Awards on the Best Metal/Hardcore album category, in the Vox Pop poll, the fan-determined portion of the influential international awards program for independent bands and fans. The quartet competed against Asking Alexndria, 16 Second Stare, Hemoptysis and Scarab.

"We are absolutely stoked! We really did not expect to win, the guys in the band thought I was joking when I broke the news to them. All we can say is thank you to all the fans that took the time to vote for us, you guys rock!", says lead singer Dani Nolden.

Article continues below...

More than 60000 music fans from all around the world have voted online for their favorite self-released and independent label artists. This year's Vox Pop winners represent more than 350 Nominees in more than 70 Album, Song, Music Video and Design categories.

Artist and industry judging pannel included Keith Richards, Ozzy Osbourne, Tori Amos, Pete Wentz (Fall Out Boy), Gwar, Benji Madden (Good Charlotte), Kevin Lyman (Mayhem Festival), Anthony DeCurtis (Rolling Stone Magazine), Tom Waits, Kathleen Brennan, Suzanne Vega, Alan Light (Live From Artists Den), Kevin Lyman (Warped Tour) and Bill Bragin (Lincoln Center), among many other artists and industry professionals.

"The IMAs celebrate artists who follow their own muse and the music fans who support them," said Executive Director, Martin Folkman. "The Vox Pop award is one of the many ways the program motivates fans to discover and support incredible independent talent, which is the purpose of The Independent Music Awards," Folkman said.

Winners of the contest will be awarded expressive promotion, distribution and opportunities that places them in front of millions of fans, programmers, talent buyers, film, TV & Gaming Music Supervisors, Media and other gatekeepers. The complete list of winners in all categories can be found at

Bands such as Lacuna Coil, All that Remains, Diablo Swing Orchestra and Vixen have also participated in the Independent Music Awards in previous editions.

At this very moment, Shadowside is on tour in support of their latest album Inner Monster Out, produced, mixed and mastered by Fredrik Nordström (In Flames, Arch Enemy, Hammerfall and more) and features special guest appearances of Björn 'Speed' Strid (Soilwork), Mikael Stanne (Dark Tranquillity) and Niklas Isfeldt (Dream Evil) on the title track.

Promoters interested in booking the band that has toured 21 countries so far should contact the band's booking agency B. Musik Management at


metal talk © All written site content is copyright 2008-2018, unless otherwise stated, and is not to be used without prior permission.