metal talk
Type band name, album name, artists name etc here...
Search all our articles by typing band name, album name, artists name etc here...
metal talk
20th June 2012


earMUSIC, Edel's international rock label (home of artists such as Bush, Ava, Skunk Anansie, Chickenfoot, Foreigner, Deep Purple, Blue October and many others) is proud to announce the release of the new Gun album, 'Break The Silence'.

Their debut album, 'Taking On The World, brought with it many successful singles, appearances, and guest slots with acts such as The Rolling Stones, Bon Jovi, Simple Minds, Bryan Adams and Def Leppard.

Article continues below...

With critically acclaimed albums, singles, many awards and line up changes under their belt, Gun decided to call it a day in 1998. Fast forward 10 years to 2008 which saw GUN being awarded with the prestigious Nordoff Robbins Tartan Clef award for 'Scotland's Best Live Band', leading to the band reuniting to an enthusiastic response.

'Break The Silence' is produced by Dave Eringa, the mastermind behind artists such as The Manic Street Preachers and Ocean Colour Scene. The collaboration resulted in a perfect balance between a modern approach and a vintage energy reminding at times of The Stooges or early Stones. The perfect sonic dress for Gun's inspired and versatile songwriting. Not just another exercise in nostalgia, but an album that 'had to be made', made of songs that were too good not to be heard.

Gun fans will certainly agree it was worth the wait: the eleven songs forming the new album reminds of some of the greatest rock albums. No fillers, power, energy, refined and rough at the same time.

Gun's singer Dante has expressed his enthusiasm about the new album: "It's great to be back and we're really pleased to be working with earMUSIC. We've always felt we had unfinished business as Gun and we couldn't be happier with the tracks we have on our new album! We can't wait for people to hear it and we can't wait to be out on the road again!"

New and old fans will have more than a chance to see Gun's energetic live show.

The band has recently toured with Big Country all over the UK and plans to play live in some of the biggest festivals and together with The Cult all over Europe.

03 July - Split, Croatia (with The Cult)
04 July - Ljubljana, Slovenia (with The Cult)
10 July - Utrecht, Netherlands (with The Cult)
13 July - Pizzola Sul Brenta, Italy (with The Cult)
14 July - Rimini, Italy (with The Cult)
15 July - Milano, Italy (with The Cult)
17 July - Barcelona, Spain (with The Cult)
18 July - Madrid, Spain (with The Cult)
19 July - Mares Vivas Festival, Portugal

Gun is: Dante Gizzi – vocals / Jools Gizzi – guitar / Johnny McGlynn - bass / Paul McManus – drums


metal talk © All written site content is copyright 2008-2018, unless otherwise stated, and is not to be used without prior permission.