metal talk
Type band name, album name, artists name etc here...
Search all our articles by typing band name, album name, artists name etc here...
metal talk
'I Will Not Break' EP
(Century Media)
Release Date: Sometime in 2014

Gary 'Rockulus' Clarke

Rockulus Maximus

james labrie

The Canadian singer/song-writer is keeping busy these days that's for sure! Not only is he embroiled in Dream Theater activity as they tour in promotion of their recent self-titled album, but earlier during 2013 he found himself unleashing his third solo studio album in the shape of 'Impermanent Resonance'.

This extended player offers up some reiteration if such a thing was necessary, that this latest solo album has some very cool material weaving throughout by offering up some of those songs again and including some extra treats. If you purchased the European limited edition digipack version of 'Impermanent Resonance' you'll already own the songs 'I Will Not Break', 'Unraveling' and 'why'. So why fork out any extra cash on the other six tracks that are contained within this E.P.?

If you're an avid fan of LaBrie's solo output, then you may recognise the rest of the material on show as originally appearing on his second solo studio album 'Static Impulse', released back in 2010. In fact if you purchased the limited edition digipack version of this album, you'll already have the 'Alternative Mix' of 'Coming Home' which sounds as beautiful in all of its acoustic-based radiance as ever.

Article continues below...

That's four out of the nine songs you may already own if you're a die-hard fan. Let's take a look at the remaining tracks. Sadly, despite the fact it's a good song with that slightly rough vibe, 'Jekyll Or Hyde [Demo Version]' is next in line. Once again, if you've coughed up some hard earned money on the limited edition of 'Static Impulse' you'll already possess this audio delight.

Naturally by this junction I'm wondering over the kudos of such a release when hardcore fans will own these opening few songs. For newer fans, or those that are still discovering the talents of LaBrie through his consistent outpouring in Dream Theater, this release may still carry some merit.

With a piano introduction, 'Just Watch Me [Demo Version]' picks up the gauntlet and isn't bad really. That evident slight rough-around-the-edges being prominent, but I've heard a lot rougher if truth be known. Mixing some keys which weave their way throughout the wall of distorted guitars before the progressive nature of this beast twists and turns merging dark and light.

A remix presented by U.S. DJ Jason Miller of 'I Tried' is next on the menu. Like a chef has sprinkled some lemon fizzy, sizzling ingredient to a familiar dessert, it's not Rock as we know it! The dance-flavour continues to flow as 'Over The Edge' and 'Euphoric' are given similar remix treatments by Mutrix and NeonGenesis respectively.

Progressive Rock fans are often open-minded souls which will benefit anyone who approaches this extended player. With five tracks that are already available on special versions of Labrie's recent two solo albums, and three intense remixes plus a demo version, it's an intriguing collection of music.

The real intent behind such a release is that the remixed, bonus and demo tracks have not been made available digitally before. Is this a strong enough reason to invest the energy in compiling this group of songs? I have my own opinion regarding the substance of such a concept and you'll have yours.

Personally if I was a devoted fan I wouldn't be that impressed. Taking the stance of a newcomer to this set of tracks, I can see some interest in checking it out.

I Will Not Break
Coming Home [Alternative Mix]
Jekyll Or Hyde [Demo]
Just Watch Me [Demo]
I Tried [Jason Miller Re-mix]
Over The Edge [Mutrix Re-mix]
Euphoric [NeonGenesis Re-mix]

James LaBrie - Lead Vocals
Matt Guillory - Keyboards, Background Vocals
Marco Sfogli - Guitars
Ray Riendeau - Bass
Peter Wildoer - Drums, Screams

For the idea of this release:


For the music on offer:





Wacken Winter Nights 2018 takes place between February 23rd and 25th 2018 and the great news is that you can now experience a full-on, top class German Metal Festival easily and affordably.

It only takes an hour to fly to Hamburg from London and we've had longer journeys than that within the capital and they were certainly more expensive than the £33 air ticket that just appeared in our 'flights to Wacken Winter Nights' search.


Wacken Winter Nights is organised by the same team who are responsible for the world's greatest Metal festival, Wacken-Open-Air and the 2018 bill includes Skyclad, Orphaned Land, Elvenking, Finntroll, Grave Digger, Aeverium, Comes Vagantes, Coppelius, Corvus Corax, Die Pressgëng, Elvellon, Heimataerde, Hell-O-Matic, Ignis Fatuu, Ingrimm, Irdorath, Johnny Deathshadow, Krayenzeit, Letzte Instanz, Mr Hurley und die Pulveraffen, Pampatut, Pat Razket, Schandmaul, Sündenrausch, The Aberlour's, The Moon And The Nightspirit, Torfrock, Visions Of Atlantis, Vroudenspil, Wind Rose and more.

Besides this rich billing of superb Metal bands, there is so much more to see in the festival area including the medieval market and also the walking acts and jugglers you will meet at the theme worlds, including Robert Blake, three-time World Cup winner of street magic.

Wacken Winter Nights is something not to be missed and you can check out the amazing ticket and accommodation prices right here.

We just priced up the whole four day trip with hotels, flights, shuttles and festival tickets for less than £300 and we don't think you will get a better value festival than that, anywhere.


MetalTalk recently sat down with Wacken founder and owner Thomas Jensen and that interview will be online next week and it's a fascinating insight into how Wacken originated from nothing to become the world's premiere Heavy Metal event.


Wacken 2018 takes place from 2nd to 4th August 20218 and as with Wacken Winter Nights, if you have never experienced all it has to offer, then you owe it to yourself to remedy that.

Already announced for Wacken 2018 are Judas Priest, Nightwish, Running Wild (exclusive), Arch Enemy, Dirkschneider, Doro (Special Anniversary Show), In Extremo, Sepultura, Amorphis, Amaranthe, Firewind, W.A.R., Belphegor, Mantar, Knorkator, Deserted Fear, Watain, Night Demon, Epica, Knorkator, Belphegor, Firewind, Deserted Fear and many more and we'll have more Wacken 2018 announcements during December.

As well as being the greatest Heavy Metal festival in the world, it is without a doubt the Mecca of Metal and the one thing that every single person who loves our music should have on their bucket list.

For 2018, MetalTalk have joined forces with Wacken-Open-Air to help you get to Wacken easily and inexpensively and you can peruse the ticket and travel options right here.

If you are interested in going to Wacken 2018 and have questions, please fill out the form below and we will contact you with answers to all your enquiries. You are under no obligation whatsoever by filling this form out. We won't add you to any mailing lists or send you loads of spam - all we will do is help you get to Wacken as easily and inexpensively as possible.



Your Email Address:

Travelling To Wacken From:

Your Telephone Number:

Your Enquiry:


metal talk © All written site content is copyright 2008-2017, unless otherwise stated, and is not to be used without prior permission.