metal talk
instagram Facebook Twitter RSS
metal talk
(AFM Records)


roxy the rock dog

udo steelhammer

'Steelhammer' is U.D.O.'s 14th studio album in a long and distinguished career as a proper Heavy Metal band. Many of us who loved the Metal scene in the 1980s will remember Accept and will appreciate this latest offering from Udo Dirkschneider.

Sadly Stefan Kaufmann left the band in late 2012 due to health reasons so with two newbie guitarists to the band in Andrey Smirnov and Kasperi Heikkinen (who previously toured as part of Gamma Ray's live set up) there is plenty new energy infused into 'Steelhammer'.

So, what is there to say about 'Steelhammer'? 14 excellent Heavy Metal power tracks, the title track kicks off into the best Heavy Metal classic style of twin guitars, strong bass and noisy drums (bliss) with a good chorus you can sing along to. Very reminiscent of early Bruce era Maiden - what's not to like?

Article continues below...

All the way through to the lighter 'Never Cross My Way' to the slightly Motley Crue-esque guitar riffs of 'Take My Medicine' - there is something for all Metal lovers here.

1. Steelhammer
2. A Cry of a Nation
3. Metal Machine
4. Basta Ya
5. Heavy Rain
6. Devil's Bite
7. Death Ride
8. King of Mean
9. Timekeeper
10. Never Cross My Way
11. Take My Medicine
12. Stay True
13. When Love Becomes a Lie
14. Book of Faith

UDO are:
Udo Dirkschneider – vocals, (1987–present)
Fitty Wienhold – bass, backing vocals (1997–present)
Francesco Jovino – drums (2004–present)
Andrey Smirnov – guitar (2013–present)
Kasperi Heikkinen – guitar (2013–present)





metal talk © All written site content is copyright 2008-2018, unless otherwise stated, and is not to be used without prior permission.