metal talk
instagram Facebook Twitter RSS
metal talk
Judith Fisher
judith fisher
19th July 2011

megadeth peace sells

Lest we forget one of the finest Metal albums of the last three decades, Megadeth are now re-releasing the remastered version of their second album (and personally my favourite), the utterly awesome 'Peace Sells... But Who's Buying'.

Listed as one of the 1001 Albums You Must Hear Before You Die and universally regarded as a thrash Metal classic, this is a 'must have' for any rock/Metal fan's music collection and was particularly prominent in shaping my love for all things Metal!

Article continues below...

From the second the drums pound into 'Wake Up Dead', Mustaine snarls and riffs his way through track after track, the growling splendour of 'The Conjuring', the epic 'Peace Sells...' (which is still one of the greatest tracks to drive to!), delicate guitar intros on the dark, bitter 'Good Mourning/Black Friday' through the fabulously brilliant 'I Ain't Superstitious' to bowing out with the brutal 'My Last Words'.

This is an utterly timeless piece of work, as blisteringly sharp and vitriolic as ever, and as relevant today as the day it was made. A truly great album.

Information and insight below:

Megadeth's vital, platinum-certified album, 'Peace Sells... But Who's Buying?', has been digitally remastered for the first time and expanded for a commemorative 25th-anniversary release in multiple configurations on July 12 by Capitol/EMI. All of the versions, including a 2CD lift-top box, digital album, and a deluxe 5Disc+3LP box set, include a previously unreleased 1987 concert from the band's first world tour and new liner notes written by Megadeth's Dave Mustaine and Metallica's Lars Ulrich.

The deluxe box set also includes previously unreleased and rare mixes of the album's tracks and hi res audio for the remastered album and concert, as well as an expanded 20-page book, plus 8' x 10' photos and reproductions of vintage Megadeth memorabilia. The cover of the box uses a new, unique process of lenticular 3D which reinterprets the original cover, creating the illusion of Megadeth's Vic Rattlehead character jumping out of the art.

Released in 1986, 'Peace Sells... But Who's Buying?' was Megadeth's second album and the band's first Capitol/EMI release. The acclaimed album thrust Megadeth into the international spotlight, and it remains a powerful thrash Metal staple.

In his liner notes for the new edition, Dave Mustaine reflects on writing the album's title track: "I had written other lyrics by now, but there was something different about 'Peace Sells' because it told my story about my faith; my beliefs; my distrust of government; my work ethic; my integrity. This was MY song.

"If there's a new way, I'll be the first in line.

"Amen!," continues Mustaine. "I was so tired of not shaving, not bathing, not eating, not having a home, a companion, NOTHING. Yeah, I'll be the first in line, but it had better work this time. Well, it was working, thank God, just fast enough for what I needed, but not nearly as fast as I would hope.

"Whether you heard this record for the first time in 1986, or you hear this record for the first time today or tomorrow, 'Peace Sells' is a great heavy metal album," writes Lars Ulrich in his liner notes for the new edition. "Nothing more, nothing less. It has stood the test of time. And will continue to do so."

Dave Mustaine pioneered the hugely successful Megadeth after his departure from METALLICA. Beginning with the band's 1985 debut album, 'Killing Is My Business... And Business Is Good!', and evolving through a shifting series of lineups, Megadeth has crafted a dynamic, intelligent style that combines the aggressiveness of thrash Metal, the improvisational nature of jazz, and cynical, articulate, politically-charged lyrics into an innovative mix that has built a rabid worldwide following.

For nearly three decades, Megadeth has taken Heavy Metal into the future — musically, lyrically, and culturally. The band has enjoyed great success on Billboard's album and single charts, including three Top 10 titles on the Top 200 Albums chart and four Top 10 Modern Rock singles, 'Almost Honest', 'Trust', 'Breadline', and 'Crush 'Em'.

With defiance and grace, through unusual quality and intelligence, Megadeth has raised a generation on a diet of truth serum and bitter pills. Instead of being kicked to the curb for their insolence, they've been rewarded with nine Grammy Award nominations, six gold, five platinum, and one double platinum albums, and three gold-certified DVD releases, in addition to last year's double platinum concert DVD, 'The Big 4: Live From Sofia, Bulgaria'.

'Peace Sells... But Who's Buying?' track listings:

2CD/Digital (Booklet with liner notes by Dave Mustaine and Lars Ulrich):
Disc 1 (original album, remastered)

01. Wake Up Dead
02. The Conjuring
03. Peace Sells
04. Devil's Island
05. Good Mourning/Black Friday
06. Bad Omen
07. I Ain't Superstitious
08. My Last Words

Disc 2 (previously unreleased 1987 concert)

01. Wake Up Dead
02. The Conjuring
03. Bad Omen
04. Rattlehead
05. Killing Is My Business... And Business Is Good
06. Looking Down The Cross
07. My Last Words
08. Peace Sells
09. These Boots Were Made For Walkin'
10. Devil's Island
11. Mechanix
12. Last Rites/Loved To Deth
13. Good Mourning/Black Friday

Deluxe 5Disc + 3LP Box Set

* Two 8x10 photos/two 8½ x 11 reproduced vintage concert flyers/one reproduced vintage ticket stub/20-page book with liner notes by Dave Mustaine and Lars Ulrich

Disc 1 (original album, remastered - tracklist above)
Disc 2 (Dave Mustaine mixes & masters for 2004 album reissue - tracklist above)
Disc 3 (Randy Burns mixes, remastered)
01. Wake Up Dead [previously released as bonus track on '04 reissue]
02. The Conjuring [previously released as bonus track on '04 reissue]
03. Peace Sells [previously released as bonus track on '04 reissue]
04. Devil's Island [previously unreleased]
05. Good Mourning / Black Friday [previously released as bonus track on '04 reissue]
06. Bad Omen [previously unreleased]
07. I Ain't Superstitious [previously unreleased]
08. My Last Words [previously unreleased]

Disc 4 (previously unreleased 1987 concert – track listing above)
Disc 5 (hi-res audio: original album + previously unreleased 1987 concert - tracklists above)
LP 1 (original album, remastered – track listing above)
LPs 2 & 3 (previously unreleased 1987 concert – track listing above)


metal talk © All written site content is copyright 2008-2018, unless otherwise stated, and is not to be used without prior permission.