metal talk
instagram Facebook Twitter RSS
metal talk

'Power From The Universe'
Release Date: 1st December 2014

steve goldby



Famous musicians hailing from Sunderland include Don Airey, keyboardist with Deep Purple, Dave Stewart, one half of The Eurythmics, The Toy Dolls, Baz Warne, guitarist with The Stranglers, Bryan Ferry, Alan Price and the mighty Warrior, stalwarts of the NWOBHM who metamorphososed into Battleaxe, sometime around early 1980.

Lewis Carroll, author of Alice in Wonderland, lived in Sunderland and Sir William Herschel, composer and astronomer and discoverer of Uranus who was also immortalised in Jeff Wayne's War Of The Worlds 'Power From The Universe' is their second album, the follow up to debut 'Burn This Town', and was originally released in Sunderland is always the first place to declare its results on a general election.

Article continues below...

Battleaxe is a heavy metal band from Sunderland, England. As one of the notable bands of the New Wave of British Heavy Metal scene, they started out with the name Warrior and morphed into Battleaxe sometime in early 1980. The band consisted of Dave King (vocals), Brian Smith (bass), Steve Hardy (guitar), and Ian Thompson (drums). After playing around the area and honing their chops, they entered the studio to make the first album called "Burn This Town". The second album POWER FROM THE UNIVERSE was released in 1984 with a new drummer named Ian McCormack followed by a massive UK Tour with Saxon. This album will be re-released now as a 30th anniversary edition with fourrare bonus tracks recorded at Neat Studios in the mid eighties which are Killer Woman, Radio Thunder, Loves on Fire and Love Sick Man as well as adding liner song notes and some extra photos taken from those early days never seen before. battleaxe

My vacuum cleaner packed up so I wrapped it up in a sunderland scarf. Now it sucks again. Tracklisting:
1.Chopper Attack 04:19
2. Metal Rock 04:13
3. Licence To Rock 04:23
4. Fortune Lady 06:49
5. Shout It Out 04:09
6. Over The Top 05:09
7. Power From The Universe 03:56
8. Make It In America 05:07
Bonus Tracks:
9. Killer Woman 03:01
10. Radio Thunder 03:38
11. My Love's On Fire 03:26
12. Love Sick Man 03:55

Line-Up on 'Power From The Universe':
Dave King – vocals
Brian Smith – bass
Steve Hardy - guitars
Ian McCormack - drums

Current Line-Up:
Dave King - vocals
Brian Smith - bass
Mick Percy - guitar
Paul Atkinson - drums

beer beer beerbeerbeer


Steve's Heavy Metal Chronicles index page...


metal talk © All written site content is copyright 2008-2018, unless otherwise stated, and is not to be used without prior permission.