metal talk
instagram Facebook Twitter RSS
metal talk

jools green
23rd March 2018
Jools Green


The sunny climes of Spain are not the first place you would think of for anything related to Black Metal, however despite an abundance of sun, sand and sangria it has spawned the singularly superb underground Black Metal entity that is Balmog.

Since their inception in 2003 the band have had a clear objective to their aims; "to create the most obscure and violent music searching in the depths of human thought and knowledge" and it's a sound that brings joy to my blackened cold heart.

'Vacuum' is their third full length, which sits alongside a myriad of split releases also. Consisting of eight tracks spanning forty minutes, all are powerfully riff driven, lending a traditional feel, but still have a fresh and vital edge.

The rhythms are dark and ponderous, it's crushing yet easy on the ear and thoughtfully and skilfully crafted, making it such a sinister yet majestic listen.

Vacuum, is also a raw, violent and well varied offering, opening with fury with 'Qui immolatus iam non moritur ...' and that's just the intro to the first proper track 'Eating The Descendant' which continues in the same vein, awash with soaring riffs and terror instilling rasping vocals.

In contrast is 'Vigil of the Blinds' which opens on haunting but subtle symphonics, quiet unnerving poignant guitars building in waves of intensity.

A more subtle delivery but no less sinister and black to the core is 'Come to the Pulpit' where the mid point lead work pulls you from the dark reverie induced by the haunting repeat and finally ending in the same brutal manner it began with.

'... sed semper vivit occisus' has both an excellent range of vocal styles, all manner of bestial snarls and growls and employed and more great lead work before a skilfully delivered, protracted drop away that ebbs and falls from the midpoint on.

1. Qui immolatus iam non moritur...
2. Eating The Descendant
3. Hodegetria
4. Vigil Of The Blinds
5. Inde Deus Abest
6. Come To The Pulpit
7. Gignesthai
8. ...sed semper vivit occisus


'Vacuum' was recorded at Moontower Studios by Javi Félez (Foscor, Teitanblood, Graveyard, Ataraxy), and mastered at Necromorbus Studio, Sweden.

The release is supported by three labels, War Anthem Records from Germany (CD version), Blackseed Productions from Spain (vinyl version) and In Pulverem Mortis Productions (tape edition) with distribution via Soulfood (GER, AT, Benelux, Spain, Italy), Season Of Mist (France), Code7 (UK), Non Stop (CH).




Metal talk © All written site content is copyright 2008-2018, unless otherwise stated, and is not to be used without prior permission.